Activities, Homeschooling

Shaped crayons

Here’s an idea for a toddler activity which I found on the internet. Shaped crayons! They are super easy to make and both my son and I enjoyed. When I was little, I used to hate broken pieces of crayons, so here is a fun, unique and creative way to reshape them. Although the ones I used here are new ones hehe.

These are great visual aids especially for toddlers because of the cute and funny shapes plus the chunky pieces are easier to hold for their tiny little hands.

I tried it out with the different silicone molds I have here. You should probably choose the shapes which have less corners and edges so they don’t break off easily when removing from the molds.

shapedcrayons-7

Gather all your materials first. These are molds I used to work with fondant and chocolate, which I don’t use anymore. I have silly robots on the left and sea shells on the right, both are Wilton. I have lego men at the bottom which we got as a gift and the one on top is sea-themed, which I got cheap from a Japanese store. Of course, don’t forget your crayons!

Peel the paper off the crayons, break into small pieces and try to fit them in the molds. Just estimate how much crayons you’ll need per shape cause they might overflow! Heat them in the oven at 120 C for a good 5 minutes and take it out to cool. Be careful not to tilt the molds or the melted crayons might spill.

Here are the finished crayons! Aren’t they adorable? I enjoyed coloring with them as much as I enjoyed making them. Very easy and not so time-consuming. Okay, my kid loved them too! He used to disregard regular crayons but now, he picks these up and works with them. Just a word of caution mommies, these crayons are too cute your kid might think they’re chocolates cause my kid thought so lol. So don’t make pieces that are too small and just watch out while they are coloring with it. 😉

Standard

Leave a Reply

